Chatime is my home

Chatime is my home.

This statement is a semi-joke. I actually spent at least 6 hours EVERYDAY (excluding occasional few days) to study at Chatime last year. Out of all bubble tea stores, its decent products attracted me at my first try. I might be one of the very few customers being able to name all the current employees. For that, I am very proud.

I can never forget the first night I stepped into Chatime. It was during its opening week in August, 2011. I received at least five calls talking about Chatime in week. Everyone’s responses were “must try”! So, during that weekend, I was going to Montreal for a short trip. While waiting for my bus, I thought of passing by the store and see how good it is. I had not tried a bubble tea store that would please me. Hence, with negative bias, I tried Chatime.

When I tasted the drink, I was astonished.

“Am I in Taiwan?” I thought.

I never expected I could find such familiar flavor on the other side of the world. After I finished my two drinks (Chatime was having buy one get one free promotion), I immediately bought two more. Guess I loved Chatime at first try.

I do not want to emphasize on how great the products are. Try them and you will know.

While being a super loyal customer, I met numerous interesting people as well as unspeakable gossips. Since I went to Chatime to study every day, I tasted all the drinks on the menu. One day, I did not know what I should get. So, I ordered “a special drink that’s not on the menu.” The cashier was shocked and started laughing. She told one of the baristas about my order. When he heard that, he started making “a special drink that’s not on the menu.”

When the drink was in front of me, we were betting if I could guess what ingredients were added to the drink. Although I was confident with my taste bunds, they did not work so well that time. I spent two hours struggling and guessing what was added to the drink. Seeing the barista’s pranking face, I lost my bet! The special drink was one of my favorites. After that once, Chatime does not make special drinks anymore. That was the only time I ever had that special milk tea. I cherish it in my memory.

Another memorable time was when my manager walked into the store with her daughter. I was shocked. I tempt to keep my difference social circles apart from each other. When my manager stepped in, I was working on my assignment. She is a welcoming person. She had her warm greeting and sat with me. As nice as she kindly asked me to explain my assignment to them, my assignment was not interesting from all points-The history of Robarts library. They had awkward expressions as I continued my topic. As people may have guessed, the conversation did not maintain long…

I have seen Chatime’s growth from very quiet to very crowded. Until now, they have more than double their sales on their drinks. Also, they are looking for expanding franchise partners. (A small leak, the owners have a huge pile for application already. If you already have a great location in mind and business portfolio planned, contact the owner ASAP!) Now, Chatime Toronto has been introduced on Yelp and TripAdvisor. As a longtime customer, I am happy for its achievement as well. That is not Chatime’s limit though. The owners are aiming for a goal greater than its current achievement. After a short chat with the owner, I am looking forward be the witness for that!

 

Chatime on Yelp:

http://www.yelp.ca/biz/chatime-toronto

Chatime on TripAdvisor:

http://www.tripadvisor.ca/Restaurant_Review-g155019-d2328100-Reviews-Chatime_Toronto-Toronto_Ontario.html

Leave a comment